Tuesday, March 14
16:00 to 17:15
Sandton Convention Centre - Bill Gallagher Room Level 2

Led by the United States Small Business Administration & the South African Department of Small Business Development

Participating Ministers will discuss policy experiences to increase the rate of new firm formation and to accelerate the pace at which small businesses scale. Informed by research and input from policy advisors, Ministers will have an opportunity to share current national entrepreneurship strategies and consider emerging policy prescriptions and program ideas aimed at increasing job creation and economic growth through entrepreneurial dynamics.

Note: This portion of the Ministerial will be a media briefing from the Ministers.

Cabinet-level representatives include:

  • BENIN: Mr. Maurice Lazare Sehoueto, Minister of Industry, Commerce and Small & Medium Scale Enterprises (TBC)
  • CAMEROON: Mr. Laurent Serge Etoundi Ngoa, Minister of SMEs
  • GUATEMALA: Dr. Ezrra I. Orozco, Vice Minister for SME Development
  • MADAGASCAR: Mr. Nourdine Chabani, Minister of Industry & Private Sector Development
  • MALAYSIA: Dr. Mohd Irwan Serigar Abdullah, Secretary General of Treasury  
  • MALI: Mr. Amadou Koita, Minister of Youth & Civic Construction 
  • NIGERIA: Mrs. Aisha Abubakar, Minister of Industry, Trade & Investment
  • SAUDI ARABIA: Dr. Ghassan Alsulaiman, Governor of the SME Authority; and Ms. Sofana Dahlan, Vice President for Entrepreneurship Advancement at the SME Authority
  • SOUTH AFRICA: Ms. Lindiwe D. Zulu, Minister of Small Business Development
  • THAILAND: Dr. Pichet Durongkaveroj, Minister of the Digital Economy & Society
  • TUNISIA: Ms. Saida Ounissi, Secretary of State for Professional Development & Entrepreneurship 
  • UGANDA: Mr. Gabriel Ajedra Aridru, Minister of State for Finance in the Ministry Finance, Planning and Economic Development 
  • UNITED STATES OF AMERICA: Mr. Eugene Cornelius, Deputy Associate Administrator, Office of International Trade, Small Business Administrations
  • VIETNAM: Mr. Tung Van Tran, Deputy Minister of Science and Technology
  • ZAMBIA: Mrs. Margaret D. Mwanakatwe, Cabinet Minister of Commerce, Trade & Industry

The following nations will also send official government representation:

  • BAHRAIN: Dr. Ebrahim Mohamed Janahi, Chief Executive of Tamkeen Labor Fund
  • BERMUDA: Mr. Marico Thomas Deputy Chair Bermuda Economic Development Corporation; Mrs. Lynn Hamilton, Chairman of the Entrepreneurship Development, Awareness and Education Sub Committee, Bermuda Economic Development Corp
  • COLOMBIA: Mr. Juan Carlos Garavito, Manager, Innpulsa Colombia, Ministry of Trade, Industry and Tourism
  • DENMARK: Dr. Anders Hoffmann, Deputy Director General, Danish Business Authority
  • EUROPEAN UNION: Mrs. Kristin Schreiber, Director for COSME Programme & SME Policy, European Commission
  • THE GAMBIA: Mrs. Anna Wadda, Principal Industrial Economist, Department of Small Business Development  
  • GHANA: Mr. Richard Osei-Anim, Senior Advisor to Government on Entrepreneurship
  • KENYA:  Mr. Parmain Ole Narikae, Managing Director, Kenya Industrial Estates; Ms. Florence Kimata, SME Advisor to the Cabinet Secretary, Ministry of Industry, Trade & Cooperatives
  • ESTONIA: Mr. Mikk Vainik, Startup Policy Expert, Ministry of Economic Affairs & Communications
  • MEXICO: Mrs. Itzel Villa, Director General for Entrepreneur and Financing Programs, National Institute of the Entrepreneur (INADEM)
  • RWANDA: Mrs. Annette Karenzi, the Director General for Industry and Entrepreneurship Development, Ministry of Trade, Industry and East African Community Affairs 
  • SLOVAK REPUBLIC: Mr. Michal Greno, Deputy Head of Mission, Embassy of the Slovak Republic in South Africa
  • TURKEY: Mr. Ozan Acar, Head of Sectors & Entrepreneurship Department, The Union of Chambers and Commodity Exchanges of Turkey 

Representatives from international organizations include: 

  • Kauffman Foundation: Jason Wiens, Policy Director, Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation
  • NEPAD: Dr. Assane Mayaki, CEO, New Partnership for Africa's Development
  • OECD: Dr. Karen Wilson, Statistics and Development Finance, Organization for Economic Cooperation & Development 
  • OIF: Mr. Eric Adja, Executive Director for Economic & Digital Affairs, Organisation International de la Francophonie  
  • UNCTAD: Mrs. Tatiana Krylova, Head of the Enterprise Branch, Division on Investments and Enterprise, United Nations Conference on Trade & Development
  • WEF: Ms. Elsie Kanza, Head of Africa, Member of the Executive Committee, World Economic Forum
  • World Bank: Ms. Ellen Olafsen, Global Product Specialist on Growth Entrepreneurship, Trade & Competitiveness Global Practice; and Mr. Paul Noumba Um, Country Director, Southern Africa, The World Bank.
Eugene Cornelius
U.S. Small Business Administration

United States

Lindiwe Zulu
Department of Small Business Development

South Africa

Jonathan Ortmans
Global Entrepreneurship Network

United States

Speaker Bios: 
Itzel Villa
National Intitute of the Entrepreneurship


Tung Van Tran
Ministry of Science and Technology


Dr. Ghassan Alsulaiman
Small and Medium Enterprises Authority.

Saudi Arabia

Anders Hoffmann
Danish Business Authority


Aisha Ababaker
State, Trade, Industry & Investment


Saida Ounissi
Ministry of Vocational Training & Employment


Dr Ebrahim Janahi
Labour Fund "Tamkeen"


Mikk Vainik
Ministry of Economic Affairs & Communications


Ibrahim Assane Mayaki
New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD)


Chabani Nourdine
Ministry of Industry and Private Sector Development


Jason Wiens
Ewing Marion Kauffman Fundation

United States

Pichet Durongkaveroj
Ministry of Digital Economy & Society


Karen Wilson


Ozan Acar
The Union of Chambers and Commodity Exchanges of Turkey


Ellen Olafsen
World Bank

United States

Mohd Irwan Serigar Abdullah
Ministry of Finance


Kristin Schreiber
European Commission


Tatiana Krylova


Cristina A. Fernandez
Global Entrepreneurship Network (GEN)

United States